Discover your Creativity

by Sadie

The scariest moment is always just before you start.” ― Stephen KingOn Writing

I want to be more creative.

I admire people who are painting, making music or dancing and are really good at it too.

I used to dance and I remember how much fun it was for me, but over the years I had less and less commitment to do it. Dancing is still one of my first answers when someone asks me what my biggest hobbies are. I’m sure that if I give dancing another try it will be worth it. It’s good for your own body feeling and it can also boost your self-confidence.

The same goes for writing. I don’t want to just let it slip away because I noticed that it’s actually great fun to write for myself and express my thoughts in a journal, poem or just in a little note.

I’ll have to make writing a part of my daily life I guess, otherwise it will be as with lots of things that you start but can’t keep up with in the end.

It’s funny how I never really fancied writing before, or let’s say I didn’t have the willingness and courage to do it. Before, I even dreaded all kinds of writing assignments in university and was scared of my teacher’s judgement of my writing.

But now that I’ve started, I don’t want to miss it. I hope that writing will be one of my creative outlets and that I can improve my style so that others might enjoy it as much as I do when they read it.

Yesterday my flatmate showed me a little collection of poems put together in a little book that her ex-boyfriend had done 5 years ago. I was genuinely excited about it, and even though she said she didn’t like most of what he had written, for me it was like a little treasure. I read a few of them and thought to myself that I want to have the same thing one day. The poems might not be super professional but all of them mean something and they convey such little, easy truths that I can’t help thinking: you don’t have to be a master artist to write poems, everybody can do it. Including me.

No matter where writing will take me, it has already been such a huge help for me in becoming more aware of my thoughts and feelings and also to overcome difficult times.

I can honestly say that I love writing and one day, maybe (hopefully!), it will become my profession. In one way or another.

I’m glad that I finally started and the more I think about it the more I realize that all that bad stuff might have happened for a reason, to bring me closer to my life purpose and let me live my passions.

Writing, dancing, Yoga… what’s next?

